We Are The Dream

David Price
5 min readJun 22, 2024
N. C. Wyeth, Athena

Then I came to a small wayside chapel. The door was ajar, and I went in.

To my surprise there was no image of the Virgin on the altar, and no crucifix either, but only a wonderful flower arrangement.

But then I saw that on the floor in front of the altar, facing me, sat a yogi in lotus posture, in deep meditation.

When I looked at him more closely, I realized that he had my face.

I started in profound fright, and awoke with the thought: “Aha, so he is the one who is meditating me. He has a dream, and I am it.”

I knew that when he awakened, I would no longer be.

~Jung

*

Sex is the power that binds everyone, and therefore it is the most important and the most dreaded thing.

The neurotic tries to escape it because he wants to escape a fate which doesn’t agree with his childish wishes or his egotism.

The dream, by choosing the symbol of the steamroller, conveys the idea of a Juggernaut, a tremendous weight, an inexorable crushing thing which rolls over man and grinds him flat.

— Jung

*

Mortals keep creating the mind, claiming it exists.

--

--

David Price

I write about creativity, loving, language learning and psycho/spirituality. I’m a longtime painter and reader.