Searching for Truth

David Price
4 min readJul 20, 2024
Georges de La Tour, “The Fortune Teller” 1630s

I try to work every day because you have no refuge but writing. When you’re going through a period of unhappiness, a broken love affair, the death of someone you love, or some other disorder in your life, then you have no refuge but writing.

~ Tennessee Williams

*

This constant lying is not aimed at making the people believe a lie, but at ensuring that no one believes anything anymore.

A people that can no longer distinguish between truth and lies cannot distinguish between right and wrong.

And such a people, deprived of the power to think and judge, is, without knowing and willing it, completely subjected to the rule

of lies. With such people, you can do whatever you want.

~ Hannah Arendt

*

I have no interest in climbing any corporate ladders. I don’t need a flashy job title. I don’t need any of the accolades. I just want enough money to fund a basic lifestyle, not be depressed, and help people around me. That’s it.

~ The Mind Unleashed

*

What stands in the way is the way.

~ Marcus Aurelius

*

--

--

David Price

I write about creativity, loving, language learning and psycho/spirituality. I’m a longtime painter and reader.