Like An Angel From The Source

David Price
4 min readNov 19, 2023
Sarah Jarrett

Powerful people of privilege sincerely hate war, but they love the things that make war inevitable…

When I was young I desperately sought the one religious teacher or text that could put my life together.

As a philosophy major in college I tried to find the one genius who could make sense of it all. I studied Western and then Eastern teachers. Although each teacher had a gift to give, none could explain away the cavernous depths of confusion I was feeling…

I never found the teacher. I did come to understand my loneliness and futility were the result of a mistaken perception that I was a separate being…

…I realized “God” was not a magical being who was hiding from me, but one symbol of an experience of something deeper and more mysterious. I realized the “word” is not so much a book as the creative principles that gave birth to art, science and religion. I realized every being I meet is like an angel from the “source.” The sacred was not hiding far away in some hidden supernatural realm but was fully available in my ordinary moments whenever I was fully present.

Most of all, I am grateful that I never found the teacher.

— Jim Rigby

*

It takes a tremendous amount of emotional and spiritual maturity to witness in full

--

--

David Price

I write about creativity, loving, language learning and psycho/spirituality. I’m a longtime painter and reader.